#1 Sprink

Sprink

Harletan

• Respected User
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,188 posts

Posted 11 December 2014 - 11:18 PM

Allo stoners

I'm thinking about making a little propagation box for the first week (2 weeks max) to get me seedlings going. It'll just be for when I'm drying in the tent.

I'm not really sure what kind of wattage I need though. I've always started under big lights.

I guess that say 45 watts of blue would be fine for the first week, but would it do any harm after that? If need be I can get a 100W .

I know with photoperiods there's time to get them right under big lights, but I might want to start autos like this as well so wouldn't want to stunt them with low light.

I also don't want them stretching beyond reason :)

Light will be 24/0

It's gonna be a VERY basic ting, as always with me. Passive intake and extraction, so it wouldn't be used for long.

It will be small, maybe 30cm tall, and will have only a few seedlings in it.

I'm not experienced with CFL so I'm not sure how much will keep them right for a week or so.

All suggestions very welcome

Cheers

• The Dude Abides, dafeengenna, RandellEl and 1 other like this

#2 Anonymiss

Anonymiss

♥ Maverick ♥

• Respected User
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,161 posts

Posted 11 December 2014 - 11:30 PM

I have 45 Watts (2 x 11 W + 1 x 23 W) of fluorescent in a space 28 cm x 28 cm, and that's fine for one plant for the first couple of weeks or so :)
  • The Dude Abides, Sprink and RandellEl like this

#3 Sprink

Sprink

Harletan

• Respected User
  • 2,188 posts

Posted 11 December 2014 - 11:44 PM

Nice one Missy

I might go a bit bigger as it'll be 3-4 seeds in there. Maybe 65W would be alright for 7-10 days with 4 seeds?

Cheers

• The Dude Abides likes this

#4 Anonymiss

Anonymiss

♥ Maverick ♥

• Respected User
  • 7,161 posts

Posted 12 December 2014 - 12:05 AM