14 replies to this topic

#1 2scoops

2scoops

Pot-Ted

• Respected User
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,607 posts

Posted 25 February 2015 - 11:56 AM

Anyone know anything about these ip security camera`s you can put outdoors that stream to your phone, a bit info and some nicely priced ones would help lots, bare in mind i`m not clued up with this stuff, so all help appreciated guys, thinking of beefing up my house security. :)

• The Dude Abides, smokin soul and Zipp like this

#2 smokin soul

smokin soul

droplets of yes and no in an ocean of maybe

• Respected User
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,708 posts

Posted 25 February 2015 - 02:14 PM

hi jimmi, are you getting a bit parra mate? ;)  

im no expert but recently put up a system at my dads place when he was having neighbour problems, the first thing i'd say is get a wired camera, we started off with wireless ones but they pick up a lot of interference, especially from TV's (and theres always a tv close by!) 

we swapped those out for some of these

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item2a28eda9aa

these are really good picture quality both day and night, they have a manual zoom so can get good close up views of exactly where you need to be looking.

they're fitted with infra red lamps which were ok for about 20 ft but we needed to see a bit further than that so added an IR floodlight as well and that really lit the place up!

don't know much about the smartphone side of things, all the docs said it was "easy" to set up but im a bit of a technophobe, plus dad said he didn't need it so i dodged that particular bullet :)

• The Dude Abides, 2scoops and duke like this

#3 Anonymiss

Anonymiss

♥ Maverick ♥

• Respected User
  • 7,161 posts

Posted 25 February 2015 - 02:31 PM

It's ages since I looked at these, but I seem to remember that an outfit named Tenvis do some reasonably-priced kit.
  • 2scoops and smokin soul like this

#4 Anonymiss

Anonymiss

♥ Maverick ♥

• Respected User
  • 7,161 posts