Photo
- - - - -

Swills Hash run.. LIVE. (No bubble bags).

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Mrs Willy

Mrs Willy

Flump no1

• Sleeping Mods
  • 5,163 posts

Posted 29 July 2015 - 09:04 PM

Hi,

Doing a hash run on my hols. about 4-6 oz of trim and popcorn from last few grows. Just been in a holdall for last year+.

So make some hash with stuff in my house... As i write this i am in the middle of it. So its like lambing live but with hash. No sheep fanny shots.. promise.

Ingredients. (May get updated depending on what i end up doing).

2 car wash buckets.

Blunt round paddle like wooden spoon.

jay cloths.

4-6oz of trim and popcorn.

3 bags of party ice from offy.

A kitchen sieve.

Approach.

Im a total novice, but understand the principles. Ive tried bubble bags before and see others non bubble bag efforts online. From what i have read (and lesseons learned from previous attempts) the key things to get right for someone making hash at home are..

1) Long as possible agitation of plant matter in icy water. Thinking a run lasting hours of agitation and then skimming the melted ice/water every hour or so.

2) Plenty of ice (15 litres for the amount of trim) and a blunt paddle like instrument to agitate the trichomes off the leaves.

3) A need to get rid of green plant matter (to avoid green hash). A kitchen seive wont cut it.

4) Consider around the house fabrics for filtering the green matter off.

5) Use the evaporation/syphon method as per GB thread.

Things i decided not to do that crossed by mind and reasons for not bothering.

1) Go slush puppie style in a magimix.. The ice would melt and the ability to bash the trichomes off becomes inferior to the ice cubes. Nice idea tho.

2) Use a handleld electric food mixer to agitate the buds.... Think this would chop up plant matter into unnecessary smaller bits and compromise the effectiveness of the undecided filter at this stage.