29 replies to this topic

#1 Mrs Willy

Mrs Willy

Flump no1

• Sleeping Mods
  • 5,163 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 09:54 PM

Hello all.

I know a few of you are into drinking wine, i am too. I am no expert, but went through a good few years of swilling the posh stuff, going to tastings etc and remain a fan of all things plonk.. but nowadays, really into seeking out bargains. There are always wines that are stunning for the price of a wolf blass red, or a jacobs creek, hardys etc. You just have to look about , or someone to point you in the direction of a good one.

As an introduction.. some do's and donts...

DONT..

Buy your wine from petrol stations, local walk in supermarkets, spar, corner shops. They are over priced, stored incorrectly.

Buy stuff because it is on offer. Example. Tesco may say wolf blass chardonnay reduced from £9 to £6 in store, but actually it should be £6 normally.

Go for the brands such as Hardys, wolf blass, faustino .. these are mass produced stuff that may taste ok, but trust me there is way better for the money.

DO...

Go to your local independent wine merchant. (Not unwins etc). They should have wine to taste on the counter.

Visit your local majestic. www.majestic.co.uk  (6 bottles at a time, but well worth buying six at a time, or twelve).

Buy online from supermarkets from mrs willys recommendations.

Ask the people at the shops for advice and get their recommendations. Pretty much every time i do this, i take home a stunner and be truthful about your knowledge of wine. Say if you like what they recommend today, you will come back again and again. 

Take advantage of tastings (majestic have loads on offer on a weekend) and any independant wine merchant worth their salt, wil have a few to taste.

If you like what you taste, buy it.